It's time to go! For all that I have had an absolute blast... I definitely feel ready to come back home. So, this morning I got up, did the final touchups on my stuff for packing, and checked out of my hostel. From there I took the short walk to the bus stop outside the main train station, where a bus goes directly to the airport.
The bus ride was fine. It actually had 1 stop at some other part of the city where it picked up a few more peeps. But, then we returned to the road en route to the airport. Having been my first experience driving in italy...driving in italy sucks. I feel like all cars, bikes, and people are all always trying to see how close they can cut traffic laws. So cars don't want to stop and people assume they will and bikes just figure they can squeeze anywhere since they're so small. Its a bit terrifying. But, we made it to the airport in about an hour total, and there were no incidents nor accidents on the way.
The airport was simple enough. I got there before the desk for checking in opened, but a short wait was all it took to solve that problem. Check in went smoothly enough, as did security. But, it wasn't until through security that the fact that I only had 1 boarding pass registered as a potential problem. This caused a moment of panic as I didnt want to now leave security. Luckily, I found an information desk and they said that I would get my next pass in Dublin and it was supposed to be this way. Crisis averted! So, a few hours later the plane boarded...and I slept for most of the flight so my details are...lacking.
I landed in Dublin a few minutes early, which is always nice. It was good to pay attention here though as all the airport employees were pretty thoroughly funneling people through emigration. But, I did not want to go that way. So, just before the lines I was able to veer off to where there was a transfer desk. There I was given my new boarding pass and a US customs form. I then passed through a lengthy series of security checks for the US. I thought that this was really annoying because the US was now checking everyone twice. Anyway, I got through with close to perfect timing. I never rushed but before long I was at my gate and they were getting ready to board their first passengers. On I got, and off we went.
This flight I stayed awake. I watched a few movies: Due Date, Wall street: Money Never Sleeps, Wall-E, and the first few minutes of Megamind. Due Date was funny, in that stupid humor sort of way. In a sense it was similar to Planes, Trains and Automobiles... but less.. classic. I really enjoyed Wall Street. I'm not quite sure what about it I liked so much... but I did none the less. Then I saw Wall-E, which I had before and I'd forgotten just how cute it was. As for the first few minutes of Megamind... I saw it on an earlier flight and had just a few minutes left to kill. Great movie though.
We landed in JFK, again a bit early. I was thinking it would be fine... but annoying as I knew my dad might not be there for a while. But, then it turns out that I had picked up my bag and was headed outside. Apparently I did all the customs in Dublin as a replacement to doing it in the states. That I think is sorta cool. So, I gave my dad a call and he was just pulling up out of sheer luck! Sometimes its better to be lucky than good!
It was great to see Mr. Dad! And we made it home without getting lost, despite our fairly constant chatter; something that usually causes us mistakes... Anyway, mom was at bell choir, so we cooked up some food and just as we started to eat in came mother. Much like with Mr. Dad... it was terrific to see mom again too. Now, I have of course omitted the cats here. Please... saying I was happy to see them would be an understatement...
So, we then spent a few hours chatting and telling small stories, both of travels, life and the going ons at home, such as the play. I made a few calls and emails to update various people that I was back home, and called it a night.
For all that traveling is and was a blast, I had a great time and learned a lot; There's no place like home!
No comments:
Post a Comment