Thursday, February 17, 2011

Into the North

While things may have all worked out today, it was a bit of a debacle to get there. I slept pretty terribly and got up around 5. Dawdled a bit, showered packed and dabbled around online. Anyway, got Margaret up at 9 and we had breakfast (this time french toast came with a salad. Odd...) and coffee. At 10:30 we headed to reception to check out and get a taxi to the airport.

Everything through check out went smoothly. When I requested a cab I said we were going to the airport and needed the "LCC Terminal". At this the concierge continued to ask if I was going to the "KLCC" also known as the Petronas Towers. This went on long enough that I finally figured I had to be wrong and just said the airport. So, the taxi came and picked us up. We were careful as we have been to ensure it was a metered cab.

Anyway, we were taken to the airport and the international terminal. There was then a pretty seizable dispute about what to pay. Despite being metered he wanted us to pay an amount not on the meter etc etc etc. The details are irksome. With that finally udel with we headed inside only to find that I had been right. We were in the wrong place. Turns out the LAC terminal is COMPLETELY separate and like a 30 min drive away. So, we got another taxi to head there. That luckily went smoothly.

So, after all this we arrived just after noon for a 2:40 flight. First however, we were funneled through a few security checks to the wrong section of the airport. I found the right section and we headed there. There were then 3 lines for different flights all jutting into the middle of the room and it was practically impossible to find the right one. Even worse, when we finally got in the right line it still took longer than any airport line i've ever been in. And not because of the number of people. There were groups unpacking and repacking bags. Of the 4 open counters checking people in, an average of about 2 had a person there. The others were all running around helping at the stations of people repacking.

So, by the time we got checked in it was 2:15... We hastily headed to customs where we found someone to take us to a separate counter and avoid lines. There we got a nice long lecture on how we should show up early to flights, and as my plan would have had me at the airport with over 3 hours it was all I could do to not flip out on her. But I didn't. Anyway, we resumed the rush and made the boarding at last call... though apparently the plain gets parked about a quarter mile away from the gate... that was odd.

Anyway, we got on board and headed north to Japan. The flight was... uneventful, which made it possibly the only thing that went as planned today. And that gets me to Japan.

We landed and headed off the plain. At first the skies were clear (or looked it. A bit hard to tell in the dark) and it was mid 50's. All in all pretty nice. But, when we got to emigration, Margaret got through fine and I got called off to a side. All in all I talked with security and a translator (which just made the areal longer) and turns out it was all a misunderstanding. But, being with security I couldn't really call Margaret so she was worried. It was a bit chaotic. Anyway... we were pleasantly surprised that our bags did indeed arrive. Neither of us were expecting that.

So we headed out to the waiting/person collecting area. There, the first thing we did was eat. We were hungry. So, as midnight rolled over we had 2 hours to get to the hostel. All directions we had said grab the airport train, 45 mind, bam... there. This is all well and good... when the train is running but it stopped at 11. So instead we paid a lot for yet another taxi on the day. However, unlike earlier he took us to the train station we asked for (near the hostel).

Unfortunately, the sky absolutely opened up at this point. So we then spent a few minutes prepping ourselves for the rain and trying to memorize a map. Then we headed out into the rain and got close to our destination. But, we got to the point that my memorization could take me no further. So we stopped under the eve of a store and I took a jog. That's right... 1:30am jog through the downpour. I know you're all jealous! Anyway, I found the hostel that has a very similar name but is not ours... and I did not find ours. Luckily though, on my return two guys walked out of the store and were going to our hostel. So they led us there which was great.

At that point I checked in and bought 2 towels, and got the room keys. We headed to our place where we stayed out of the room for a bit, drying and sorting our stuff. We me a couple crazy slightly drunk and maybe high people, but they were nice for a laugh. Anyway, I think its finally time for rest. But i'm excited about Tokyo so no worries here.
Published with Blogger-droid v1.6.7

No comments:

Post a Comment