The train ride was uneventful, though timing worked out perfectly. I walked to the platform, grabbed some food, walked onto the train. Perfect timing all around. Anyway, the trainride too was relatively uneventful. The one piece to note were the terrific views of Mt. Fuji. I think we were on the same train line as our way to Kyoto... and were that true I've no idea how I missed that site. It's spectacular. It's really a very smooth mountain with a perfect curve to the top. At this time of the year its snow coating covered it about halfway to its base. So, I could see over trees and over towns to this massive peak rising above everything else that could be seen. Quite a site indeed.
Anyway, I got to Tokyo Station, where I then had to take a series of local trains and subways back to Asakusa. I was run down in the station trying by an English pair who were looking for help getting to Roppongi. Sadly... at the time I knew not how to get there and I didn't know where it was and they couldn't tell me. Sadly, I left them with no more information then they had. Had they asked me now, I could tell them, but that in due time.
I got back to the hostel just fine, and set up the check in so that Margaret could just pick up her key without me needing to be here. From there I set down my stuff and had a cup of coffee and a few snacks with Jacob. Turns out he's flying out tomorrow evening, so he's having a quiet night/following day.
Anyway, I first used the hostel's printer for some information about London as well as my remaining plain ticket confirmations. Then I figured out how to get to Roppongi. Just the other night I got in touch with Yuki Senaga, who is cousins with my friend Minerva from back in good old Pleasantville. Anyway, she was apparently working near Roppongi and we thought it could be fun to meet up.
So, I grabbed a subway and 1 transfer later was in Roppongi. I got a few looks around while I waited for Yuki... but that was really only enough time to enjoy the bright green Roppongi lights on all the street lamps. Turns out, this is a big party/nightlife strip, and mostly for foreigners who are living in Japan. These lights certainly fit the bill.
Anyway, a after a few minutes we met up, exchanged greetings and wandered a bit. We walked around and she showed me two of the more recent and more massive buildings in the area. The first was Mid-Town, which is apparently full of high end restaurants and shops. We headed out the back to where there is a small ice-skating rink which is beautifully lit by blue and white christmas lights. From there I also had my first decent view of Tokyo Tower... which looks much like a small Eiffel Tower, and is used to broadcast stuffs. Apparently they are building a newer and larger one here in Asakusa. Then we went to the other slightly less new but still very large and tall building. This one was Roppingi Hills, and it's front terrace area seemed to be making a point of having elaborate fountains. We did not go in because apparently it is mostly lame offices. Anyway, there were some places here for improved views of the tower. Lastly, on our way to dinner we walked down the main street until our view of the tower was great for some pictures.
After the photo opp we headed to dinner. We went to a local shop serving various forms of okonomiyaki (the pancake one from the other night). The biggest difference here is that we did all the cooking which was quite a bit of fun. Our first dish was very similar to one I had in Osaka, so I'll skip that. Then we had some monjya-yaks, which is the Tokyo style version of it. Even after cooking... I described it visually as "eating goop..." its the same type of foods and flavors, but rather than forming a type of pancake, its more... like a goop. That sounds rather not good... but it tasted great and was fun to eat too! Our last dish was yaki sobs, which literally translates to grilled (or burnt) noodles. Apparently, this is a dish eaten a lot during times of festival and celebration. It was noodles, dried shrimp, dried green onions and dried squid, fried in 2 sauces. It too was delicious. At the time I said the more standard okonomiyaki was my favorite... but the more I think about it... I did really like the mojya-yaki (the Tokyo version).
Throughout dinner we had some great conversations. We talked about school and travel and hobbies and the like. Though the details of that I see no need to share! Hahaha! Anyway, the subway back was almost eventful. I was not paying attention and chatting until Yuki pointed out that we were at my stop. So, we parted ways, hopefully for just the night and not forever, and the rest of my return was uneventful. And now... im off to bed.
Published with Blogger-droid v1.6.7
No comments:
Post a Comment